Underage DUI-DUI Under 21
A DUI charge for a driver who is under the age of 21, is treated much more seriously in Illinois than a DUI for a driver who is over the age of 21. If you are under the age of 21, and you have been arrested and charged with a DUI, you need to make sure that your DUI lawyer understands the Illinois DUI laws that apply to Underage DUI cases in Illinois. If you are underage, and facing a DUI in Illinois, you need to understand the law that applies to your case, and make sure that your DUI attorney understands the law that applies to Underage DUI cases in Illinois. James Dimeas, is a nationally recognized, award-winning, DUI lawyer, who has represented motorists charged with DUI cases throughout Chicago, Cook County DuPage County, Kane County, and Lake County for over-29 years. James Dimeas has handled hundreds of Underage Motorists charged with a DUI and understands the law and understands what he needs to do to make sure that you do not lose your driver's license and are able to go to work and go to school.The Illinois Zero Tolerance Law for Underage Drivers
If you are under the age of 21 and have any trace of alcohol in your system, you will lose your right to drive in Illinois. If a police officer pulls you over for any traffic violation, and the officer has probable cause (more probably true than not true) to believe that you have any alcohol in your system, the officer can request that you submit to a chemical test. If the chemical test reveals any trace of alcohol in your system, your license will be suspended in Illinois. The chemical test can be a Breathalyzer test or a blood test. The first time you are charged under the Illinois Zero Tolerance Law, you will be facing a 3-month suspension of your driver's license. The second time you are charged under the Illinois Zero Tolerance Law, you will be facing a 1-year suspension of your driver's license. If you are under the age of 21, and you refuse to submit to a chemical test, your license will be suspended for 6-months. If you are under the age of 21, and you refuse to submit to a chemical test for a second time, your license will be suspended for 2-years. If you submitted to a chemical test, and your blood alcohol level was .08 or above, you could be charged with a DUI and your license will be suspended for 6-months.
Whether you are charged under the Illinois Zero Tolerance Law, or charged with a DUI, is under the discretion of the police officer that arrested you. If your blood alcohol level was .05 or above, and there is additional evidence that your driving was impaired, the officer may charge you with a DUI. If you are charged with a DUI in Illinois, you will be facing a Class A Misdemeanor criminal charge that carries a maximum penalty of up to 1-year in County Jail and a fine up to $2,500. A DUI conviction can never be removed from your criminal record. Therefore, a misdemeanor DUI conviction in Illinois will always appear on a background search. This may affect your ability to get a job or go to school. Therefore, it is critical that you hire an experienced and accomplished DUI lawyer if you are under the age of 21 and are charged with a DUI in Illinois.DUI Penalties for Under 21
If you are convicted of a DUI in Illinois, and are under the age of 21, in addition to the criminal penalties that could lead to jail time, and substantial fines and court costs, the Secretary of State will revoke your driving privileges in Illinois for a minimum of 2-years for your first DUI conviction. A second DUI conviction under the age of 21 will lead to a minimum 5-year revocation of your driving privileges in Illinois.Non-Driving Alcohol Cases Could Affect Your License if You are Underage
If you are under the age of 21, and you are convicted of illegally purchasing, possessing, or consuming alcohol, you will have your driver's license suspended for 6-months for the first conviction. A second alcohol conviction will lead to a 12-month suspension of your driver's license. This will apply to cases in which you are charged with an alcohol offense that does not involve driving. These penalties will apply to your driver's license, while you could also be facing criminal penalties in criminal court for the alcohol offense.
If you receive Court Supervision for the alcohol offense in criminal court, your driver's license will be suspended by the Illinois Secretary of State for 3-months.Illegal Transportation of Alcohol Under 21
In Illinois, it is Illegal to Transport Alcoholic Beverages in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle. The driver of the motor vehicle will be held responsible for the alcohol even if it belonged to a passenger. The Illegal Transportation of Alcohol for drivers who are under the age of 21 will carry a suspension of your driver's license. If you are under the age of 21 and are convicted of Illegal Transportation of Alcohol, your license will be suspended for 12-months. A second Offense for Illegal Transportation of Alcohol will carry a 1-year revocation of your driver's license.One of the Best DUI Lawyers in Chicago for Your DUI
James Dimeas has been handling DUI cases throughout the Chicago Metropolitan Area for over-29 years. James Dimeas has the experience necessary to know how to thoroughly examine police reports, and police videos, and to prove that the police did not properly arrest you or investigate your DUI case. James Dimeas knows how to when do you spot the mistakes and show how the police failed to follow their policies and procedures and did not conduct a proper and valid DUI arrest. With over-29 years of experience handling DUI cases, James Dimeas knows how to review the state's evidence and spot the mistakes that could lead to you winning your DUI case.
James Dimeas is one of the most experienced DUI lawyers in the Chicago Metropolitan Area. James Dimeas has spent decades handling DUI cases throughout the Chicago area and knows how the different police agencies train their officers on how to conduct DUI investigations and DUI arrests. James Dimeas knows how the police are trained to testify in Court and to present their cases their DUI cases in Court. James Dimeas knows all the tricks and knows what to do to win DUI cases.
James Dimeas is a nationally-recognized, award-winning, DUI attorney with over-29 years of fighting DUI cases throughout Chicago, Cook County, DuPage County, Kane County, and Lake County. Attorney and Practice Magazine gave James Dimeas the "Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorney Award for Illinois," and the "Top 10 DUI Defense Attorney" award. The National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys gave James Dimeas the "Top 10 Attorney Award for the State of Illinois." Recently, James Dimeas was recognized by the American Society of Legal Advocates as a "Top 100 Criminal Defense Lawyer In the State of Illinois For the Year 2018, 2019, and 2020." Expertise name James Dimeas a "Best Criminal Defense Lawyer in Chicago." James Dimeas was named a "Best DUI Attorney." The American Institute of Criminal Law Attorneys recognized James Dimeas as a "10 Best Attorney for Client Satisfaction." The National Trial Lawyers named James Dimeas a "Top 100 Criminal Defense Trial Lawyer." AVVO rates James Dimeas as "Superb," 10 out of 10, the highest rating possible for any DUI lawyer in the United States.
If you are being charged with a DUI in Chicago, Cook County, DuPage County, Kane County, or Lake County, you can contact James Dimeas anytime for a free and confidential consultation about your case. You can always talk to James Dimeas personally by calling him at 847-807-7405.